Futsal - About

Since 1996, the CONCACAF Futsal Championship has been held every four years, crowning a champion and serving as a qualifying competition for the FIFA Futsal World Cup.

In five previous editions, the United States and Costa Rica have earned a record-equaling two titles, while Guatemala has lifted the trophy once. Cuba has finished as runner-up a record four times and is the only CONCACAF side to participate in four World Cups.

The 2016 CONCACAF Futsal Championship, which consists of eight teams, will be held entirely at the BN Arena in San Jose, Costa Rica. Each of the four semifinalists will qualify for the 2016 FIFA Futsal World Cup in Colombia.

It will mark the third time that Central American nation hosts the tournament and first since 2004.

Hosts, Champions & World Cup Qualifiers
(all World Cup Qualifying competitions)

Host: Guatemala
Champion: United States
Final: United States 7, Cuba 3
MVP: Dennis Brose (United States)
World Cup Qualifiers: Cuba, United States

Host: Costa Rica
Champion: Costa Rica
Final: Costa Rica 2, Cuba 0
MVP: Diego Solis (Costa Rica)
World Cup Qualifiers: Costa Rica, Cuba, Guatemala*

Host: Costa Rica
Champion: United States
Final: Cuba 0, United States 2
MVP: Juan Carlos Portal (Cuba)
World Cup Qualifiers: Cuba, United States

Host: Guatemala
Champion: Guatemala
Final: Guatemala 3, Cuba 3 (5-3 pens)
MVP: Erick Acevedo (Guatemala)
World Cup Qualifiers: Cuba, Guatemala, United States

Host: Guatemala
Champion: Costa Rica
Final: Guatemala 2, Costa Rica 3
MVP: Jorge Arias (Costa Rica)
World Cup Qualifiers: Costa Rica, Guatemala, Mexico, Panama

*2000 FIFA Futsal World Cup host, did not participate in 2000 CONCACAF Futsal Championship

Related News

No results