Under-17 Championship starts Friday

The Estadio Maracana (pictured) in the El Chorrillo section of Panama City, Panama, will be the venue for the CONCACAF Under-17 Championship opening doubleheader on April 21, 2017. (Photo: Mexsport)

PANAMA CITY, Panama – The 2017 CONCACAF Under-17 Championship – the competition’s 18th edition -- opens Friday in Panama with a Group A doubleheader featuring host Panama at the Estadio Maracana.

Friday – April 21, 2017
Haiti v Curacao, 7:30 p.m. ET
Panama v Honduras, 10:00 p.m. ET

Group B -- containing Canada, Costa Rica, Cuba and Suriname -- will start play Saturday. On Sunday, Group C kicks off with El Salvador, Jamaica, two-time defending champion Mexico and the United States.

The competition will be played under a new format that consists of a group stage, a classification phase and a final.

Under the structure -- designed to increase the number of meaningful, competitive matches for all participants -- the top two teams from play in Groups A, B, and C will advance to the Classification Stage, where the Confederation’s four tickets to the U-17 World Cup will be determined in round-robin play among two groups of three teams each.

The top two teams of each of the two Classification Stage groups will qualify as CONCACAF representatives to the 2017 FIFA U-17 World Cup in India. The Classification Stage group winners will advance to the final on Sunday, May 7, at the Estadio Rommel Fernandez.

List of Champions

1983: USA
1985: Mexico
1987: Mexico
1988: Cuba
1991: Mexico
1992: USA
1994: Costa Rica
1996: Mexico
1999: no champion
2001: no champion
2003: no champion
2005: no champion
2007: no champion
2009: no champion
2011: USA
2013: Mexico
2015: Mexico







Under 17s - Men
Under-17 World Cup: U.S. campaign ended by England
Under 17s - Men
U-17 World Cup: Honduras eliminated by Brazil
Under 17s - Men
U-17 World Cup: Iran edges Mexico in Round of 16
Under 17s - Men
Weah hat-trick powers U.S. past Paraguay, into quarterfinals
Under 17s - Men
U-17 World Cup: Mexico progresses after draw with Chile