CFC: Cuba joins Costa Rica in semis, Futsal World Cup

Cuba (pictured) celebrates after scoring against Canada in the 2016 CONCACAF Futsal Championship on May 10, 2016, in San Jose, Costa Rica. (Photo: Mexsport) 

SAN JOSE, Costa Rica – Cuba (1W-1D-1L, 4 points) will return to the FIFA Futsal World Cup for the first time since 2008 thanks to the combination of its 7-4 win over Canada (1-0-2, 3) and Costa Rica’s 6-3 victory against Curacao (0-1-2, 1) on Tuesday night in the 2016 CONCACAF Futsal Championship at BN Arena.

Costa Rica finished atop the Group B table with a perfect 3-0-0 record and will face Group A runner-up Guatemala in Thursday’s semifinals, while Cuba is slated to face Group A winner Panama.

Reynier Fallo scored three goals within the opening 29 minutes for the Cubans, who raced out to a 5-1 lead, before Canada cut the deficit to one goal through Vahid Assadpour (36’) with less than five minutes remaining in the game.

Reinier Socarras (37’) and goalkeeper Breniht Suarez (39’) sealed the victory with late strikes.

Canada’s Freddy Moojen (34’, 34’) netted twice, extending his scoring streak to three consecutive matches.

The evening concluded with a offensive explosion from Costa Rica that saw it push six goals past Curacao before halftime.  That was all the scoring the Ticos needed as they were shutout in the second half of an encounter that ended at 6-3.

Edwin Cubillo (2’) was the first of six different players to score for the host, including Juan Cordero (3’), who took his tournament total to three goals.  Yariel Sandi increased Costa Rica’s lead to 3-0 in the sixth minute, hitting the back of the net for the second time in as many games.

Jean Pauletta (10’), Everon Espacia (19’) and Ashar Bernardus (39’) got on the scoresheet for Curacao.


May 10, 2016

Cuba 7, Canada 4
1-0 Reynier Fiallo, Cuba (14:07)

1-1 Ian Bennett, Canada (17:21)

2-1 Reynier Fiallo, Cuba (26:45)

3-1 Reynier Fiallo, Cuba (28:02)

4-1 Daniel Hernandez, Cuba (28:56)

5-1 Jhonnet Martinez, Cuba (29:27)

5-2 Freddy Moojen, Canada (33:07)

5-3 Freddy Moojen, Canada (33:23)

5-4 Vahid Assadpour, Canada (35:20)

6-4 Reinier Socarras, Cuba (36:08)

7-4 Breniht Suarez, Cuba (38:02) 

Costa Rica 6, Curacao 3

1-0 Edwin Cubillo, Costa Rica (1:27)

2-0 Juan Cordero, Costa Rica (2:03)

3-0 Yariel Sandi, Costa Rica (5:47)

4-0 Isaias Mora, Costa Rica (7:11)

4-1 Jean Pauletta, Curacao (9:18)

5-1 Adonay Vindas, Costa Rica (11:19)

6-1 Christopher Molina, Costa Rica (14:25)

6-2 Everon Espacia, Curacao (18:03)

6-3 Ashar Bernardus, Curacao (38:50)



Panama futsal ends Juegos Bolivarianos on winning note
Panama earns first win in Juegos Bolivarianos
St. Vincent & the Grenadines promotes development through futsal
Utah Elite Futsal looks forward to CONCACAF future
Grupoline wins CONCACAF Futsal Club Championship